Email SuperHindi SuperHindi on Twitter SuperHindi on Facebook
Our Rating
Your Rating
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.3/5 (1 vote cast)

Well Done Abba (2010)


Well Done Abba (2010) is a 2010 political satire Hindi film directed by Shyam Benegal, starring Boman Irani, Minissha Lamba and Sammir Dattani in pivotal roles. It won the 2009 National Film Award for Best Film on Social Issues.


The film tells the story of Armaan Ali (Boman Irani), is a Muslim driver working in Mumbai, who takes one month leave from his employer to find a groom for his daughter Muskaan (Minisha Lamba), who lives in a village, distant from Hyderabad. Armaan does not turn up for three months, and his employer makes the difficult decision to sack him, but he requests his boss to listen to why he could not come. Getting soft, his employer allows him to drive to Pune where he has a meeting. Armaan starts the story from here.

In Armaan’s village, many problems include a rising drought situation and financial difficulties due to the antics of his twin brother, who has a bad reputation for debt addiction and theft. In the opening, a man named Arif demands 500 from Armaan. Eventually, Muskaan pays the debt to Arif and Armaan’s brother is arrested, later on released. To solve the drought problem, he goes to a government office to build a well, along with a friend. There, he goes through stages such as explaining what he wants and even having his photo taken. Muskaan, on the other hand falls in love with a man called Arif, of which Armaan does not approve firsthand, but later on gets pleased with it.

Armaan does not receive what the well he wanted, and sits in despair. He and Muskaan try to tell the police commissioner about that the well was ‘stolen’, but the commissioner finds this as a rather silly story, and is even stubborn enough to not listen to what they have. Disturbed, Armaan and Muskaan launch a protest, along with several villagers against the Police Commissioner of the village, later on to the Justice Minister, where the Minister punishes the Commissioner for his slackful behaviour. The Commissioner, realising his mistakes and behaviour, then starts to approach to the people in a more orthodox way. The Justice Minister then allows the government people to build the well for the villagers and punishes them all for not doing what they are supposed to do.

With the drought problem solved, Armaan decides that Muskaan should marry an Arab Sheikh. Muskaan, does not accept her father’s offer, and even goes to the extent of having an argument about this, but the issue is even more heated when she receives a letter from her friend, Sakina, which involved her getting beat up by her Sheikh husband and getting kicked out, shocking Armaan and Sakina’s mother. Disturbed, Armaan then decides that Muskaan should marry Arif, much to her delight. With the two of Armaan’s problems solved, Armaan ends his story where there was an awards ceremony, which in his perspective was a ‘big drama’, as the stage literally collapsed, delighting people. With his employer convinced, he then allows Armaan to work for him again.


Boman Irani as Armaan Ali / Rehman Ali
Minissha Lamba as Muskan Ali
Sammir Dattani as Arif Ali
Ila Arun as Salma Ali
Ravi Kishan as Vikas Jha – Sub engineer
Sonali Kulkarni as Malti – Jha’s wife
Rajit Kapoor as Srikant Reddy – Police inspector (as Rajit Kapur)
Ravi Jhankal as Rustam – Police constable
Yashpal Sharma as Ramiyya – Police constable
Rajendra Gupta as Irrigation Minister – Mantri Garu
Rahul Singh as Rohan Kapoor
Salim Ghouse as Janardhan Reddy
Satish Sharma as Raghav Reddy – Photographer
Lalit Tiwari as Meherban Ali – Arif’s father
Anaitha Nair as Sakina
Anupam Shyam as Shekhar Anna – Thekedar
Charan Saluja as Srinivas Rao – MPDO
Masood Akhtar as Narayan
Ayesha Jalil as Dadi Ma – Bidiwala’s mother (as Ayesha Jaleel)
Preeti Nigam as Sakina’s mother
Meena Nathani as Balamma – Sarpanch
Akhil Mishra as Arun Mishra – Tahsildar
Deepika Amin as Lata – Police inspector’s wife
Ashok Mishra as Speaker – Legislative Assembly
Ashok Kumar as Opposition Leader
Gulam Subhani as Kallan Khan
Jagdish Sharma as Ratnam – Minister’s secretary
Rehman Khan as Bade Babu
Jamsheed Khan as Patwari
Wasim as Patwari’s son
Hamid Kamal as MPDO’s peon
Chandrakant as MPDO’s clerk
Arshad Mukesh as Rikshawalla
Hussain Premi as Chudiwala
Gautam Arya as Chudiwala’s son
Shama Sultara as Chudiwala’s wife
Sara Khan as Chudiwala’s daughter
Komal as Chudiwala’s 10 year old daughter
Suresh Gera as Bank manager (as Suresh Ghera)
Bhavna Kulshreshtha as TV reporter Bhavna
Rashmi Gautam as TV reporter Rashmi
Mohsin Khadir as Urinating man
Ali Rasavi as Commissioner
Anand Varma as Collector
Srinivaslu as I.G. Police
Noorjahan as Bidiwala’s wife
Mohin Khan as Bidiwala
Vinay Pandey as Bidiwala’s father (as Vinay Pande)
Razzaq Qureshi as Sub engineer’s assistant (as Razzak Qureshi)
Siddharth as TV cameraman Siddharth
Chinmay Das as TV cameraman Chinmay

Sound Tracks

“Oh Meri Banno Hoshiyar”
Lyrics by Ila Arun
Composed by Shantanu Moitra
Performed by Ila Arun and Daniel B. George
Music Label T-Series

“Hum Toh Apni Bawdi Lenge”
Written by Ashok Mishra
Composed by Shantanu Moitra
Performed by Swanand Kirkire and Mohit Chauhan
Music Label T-Series

“Sandesa Sandesa Hawa Mein”
Written by Swanand Kirkire
Composed by Shantanu Moitra
Performed by Shreya Ghoshal and Rupankar
Music Label T-Series

“Rahiman Ishq Ka Dhaga Re”
Written by Ashok Mishra
Composed by Shantanu Moitra
Performed by Raja Hasan and Raghav
Music Label T-Series

“Pani Ko Taraste, Pani Ko Taraste”
Written by Ashok Mishra
Composed by Shantanu Moitra
Performed by Raja Hasan and Krishan Beura
Music Label T-Series

“Jabbhi Muh Kholta”
Written by Ashok Mishra
Composed by Vishal Khurana
Performed by Boman Irani & Ila Arun
Music Label T-Series

Reviewed by ChathuRangA on 28 December 2010

Leave a Reply